cold sore valtrex dosage

Empty the Virus Vault?

 Dear Computer Lady,

I have a question that I can’t seem to find the answer to. When I run a full scan on my computer and it puts threats or virus in my virus vault, when asked, do I want to just delete or empty the virus vault? Also, what is the difference?

Thanks for any help you can give me, Teri in Michigan

__–__

Dear Teri,

When your antivirus program finds files that have been infected with a virus, it moves it into a special location that has been named the vault.

When a file is put in the vault, it is disabled so that the virus can’t harm your computer, but the file is still available just in case your computer has problems running without the file.

Note: Some viruses replace critical Windows files with their own infected versions, and if you remove the infected file, Windows won’t be able to run.

If you put an infected file in the vault, and your computer needs that file to run, you can usually restore the file to its original location and use the computer while you figure out another way to recover from the virus.

Now that we have a little bit of background on why the virus vault exists, I can give you an answer to your question.

If the files have been in the virus vault for at least a few days, and your computer has been running fine without them, go ahead and delete the files that are in there.

Deleting the files that are in the vault, and empting the virus vault are the same thing.

I hope this helps, Elizabeth




Comments are closed.